missing summer

Eboni+Booth+2(1)_3

It was very cold today. The temperature hovered around 25 degrees. I don’t know how I made it through so many Vermont winters. In Burlington, which is right on the water, there would be about three weeks that would get down to -30 degrees with the windchill. I could always tell when it was below zero because the hair in my nose would freeze. The strangest little feeling. My wintertime litmus test was to wiggle my nose around and wait to feel if the moisture in my nostrils would solidify. If it didn’t, I knew we were above zero. And anything above zero was damn near balmy.

Leave a Reply

