weekly endorsements

banner_top

I suggest!

Rick Moody (The Ice Storm, The Black Veil) is one of my favorite writers. I can’t say enough about his prose– it’s sensitive and jarring and soft and it stays with me long after I’ve stopped reading. Do check out his blog post on Taylor Swift. You have to scroll a bit down the page, but his post and subsequent reader responses are well worth the read. You can read here.

Yummy Books is a beautiful literary food blog by my wonderful friend Cara. She creates the most wonderful recipes based on scenes from some of her favorite books. Stop by and say hello and be dazzled by her writing, photos, and food descriptions. And give her a congrats, too! Cara has a book coming out based on the blog! Wahoo!

One Story is a literary journal featuring one story per issue. You subscribe, you receive a story in the mail about once a month, happiness ensues. I love One Story, I love receiving things in the mail that aren’t bills, and I love that the short story is still alive and kicking.

My fellow New Yorkers! City Bakery is my favorite place to eat in the entire city. Conveniently located, the best cookies around (I’m not being hyperbolic, I tell no lies, these cookies will be the best things you ever eat), and February is Hot Chocolate Month. Different flavor of hot cocoa each day. Need I say more? Stop what you’re doing and go. Now.

Leave a Reply

