eight things

IMG_0378

Eight things I want to do before the summer ends:

    1. Learn how to play chess
    2. Make homemade sweet tea
    3. Go kayaking
    4. Finish the short story I’ve been working on since March
    5. Visit a water park
    6. Learn how to ride a bike
    7. See a movie at the drive-in
    8. Spend one whole afternoon (let’s say noon-6) on a porch with my friends and lots of canned beer and a bottle of Firefly. I’m okay if it’s a backyard instead of a porch. I’m also okay if we spend a lot of time trying to figure out what to eat for dinner. You know how it is when you’re drinking all day and someone realizes “Man, we should eat something,” and someone else says “What do we feel like eating?” but then the conversation kind of spins and turns, because everyone’s been drinking all day, and then someone brings up “That time with the cow and you fell down,” and someone else pipes in with “Oh! And that guy was there,” and then someone starts laughing so hard he or she falls out of his or her chair and then everyone’s laughing and someone gets up to get a beer and asks who wants another and six people shout “I do!” and someone else goes inside to use the bathroom and the laughing won’t stop, and by the time everyone has settled down, forty minutes have passed and things are a little quieter and a Fleetwood Mac song is twinkling out of someone’s portable ipod speakers and then someone else asks, “Wait, did we decide what we’re going to eat?”

7 thoughts on “eight things

  1. Oh how I wish I was going to be there for all of those things. Chess is on my list as well. There is a life sized ( well toddler sized) chess board and pieces at a park downtown where teenagers dressed as cosplay raccoons and twilight characters gather. I wish they weren’t there so I could practice my chess moves.

  2. Chess and Kayaking are also on my list…well maybe not for this summer as it is almost gone. Actually Kayaking has been on it for two summers now. Chess has been on it forever…we should play once we learn 🙂

    I enjoy your writing!

Leave a comment